Pages

Subscribe:

Christian Novel Review

Having always been an avid reader, since becoming a Christian I have found a wealth of reading material in Christian bookshops and in various second hand bookshops. I have found that in Christian novels one often finds truths that help in one’s Christian walk. I enjoy reading about how the various characters deal with life, and I also find I am the richer for reading a really good Christian novel. Certain authors, through their books, give you a real insight into their joys and struggles, which I find very interesting. The books which I am going to review are those which I have really enjoyed, and have read at least twice – some books, for example the “Mark of the Lion “ series by Francine Rivers, I have read at least five times each. The first books that I am going to talk about are the latest two novels by Francine Rivers,


Powered by Blogger.

Follow by Email

Followers

Popular Posts

Friday, 22 November 2019

ON WINGS OF DEVOTION by ROSEANNA WHITE

Publication date 7/1/20
ON WINGS OF DEVOTION is the third novel I have read by ROSEANNA WHITE, and in my opinion easily the best. It is a really good historical romance, with an excellent Christian message and really great characters.
The story takes place mostly in London in 1918, towards the end of the First World War.
Arabelle Denler is a qualified nurse who works at Charing Cross Hospital. The recipient of her Aunt's fortune, she lives with her father in an apartment with a view of Buckingham Palace. Longing to have a family of her own, and seeing herself as plain and gawky, she has agreed to marry Edmund Braxton, who needs her money in order to keep his family home. Since her mother's death and because of her father's insatiable need for adventure, she feels abandoned and lonely and not worth very much to anyone. She is a woman of faith who really wants to help others.
Each day as she sees Philip Camden, who is regarded as a criminal by many, walking back from the Old Admiralty building, she feels drawn to him in his suffering and prays for him.
Add to all this, enemy fire, a group of cryptologists intercepting messages in code, spies and much more, and you have a really exciting plot which marries history with fiction.
I cannot wait for the next book in The Codebreakers series and highly recommend On Wings of Devotion as a most enjoyable read.



- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Tuesday, 22 October 2019

THE TIME OF JACOB'S TROUBLE by DONNA VANLIERE

Publication date 17/3/20
I have been waiting a long time for a book like this - in fact since the Left Behind series, all of which I read over and over again.
THE TIME OF JACOB'S TROUBLE by DONNA VANLIERE is not only an exciting novel but it is so full of truth that I know I will read it many times as well. Whether you are serious about your Christian walk and want to learn more about the Rapture of the church and end times prophecy, or just want to read a riveting story, this is the book for you.
The story starts with the disappearance of people all over the world. There is a well described sense of panic and despair at the mayhem that is let loose with looting gangs, attacks on America and Israel, and general lawlessness. Everyone seems to have their own opinion, from aliens taking people, to chemical reactions, to ridding the earth of Christians with their intolerance and bigoted ideas, and many other views. Those who feel that maybe God has taken His people to be with Him are viewed as the enemy!
Life changes for ever for Emma Grady when Mrs Ramos, the woman she is working on at the rehabilitation centre is suddenly not there! She is terrified and manages to get home through the chaos to her boyfriend Matt, who is just as confused as she is. She is also devastated to hear from her sister that their mother has disappeared.
In Israel, Dr Zerah Adler is equally thrown by the disappearance of Dr Haas, one of his co-workers.
There are many interesting characters and the plot is well crafted.
i will leave you there as I do not want to spoil the read for you.
The author is very knowledgeable about the end times and really knows the Word of God. Her explanations in "Where in the Word" at the end are excellent. I have highlighted so many passages right through and really enjoyed every part of the book. I am looking forward to the next novels in the series.




- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Thursday, 17 October 2019

THE JERUSALEM ASSASSIN by JOEL ROSENBERG

Publication date 17/3/20
THE JERUSALEM ASSASSIN is another political thriller by JOEL ROSENBERG which will keep you on the edge of your chair! The author has such an amazing knowledge of politics, especially those of America, Russia and the Middle East, which makes his novels exciting and gives us a great deal of food for thought.
The story takes place after The Kremlin Conspiracy and the Persian Gamble, both very worthwhile reads, but it can be read as a stand alone.
We come across so many characters from the first two novels, starting with Marcus Ryker, who is now working for DSS as a cover for his employment with the CIA. After his heroic actions at a church shooting, he becomes heavily involved in American President Clarke's decision to announce his peace plan, on the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. With terrorist attacks escalating, which are believed to be the work of a new militant group called Kairos, Marcus and his superiors try first of all to dissuade him from going to Israel, and then they change tactics and decide he should hold a two day summit in Jerusalem after all. All hell is let loose amongst the enemies of peace, especially when the Saudi king decides to join the presidents of America and Israel in the peace talks.
The plot is very well worked out and the desperate search for the Jerusalem assassin had me literally holding my breath.
I am not going to tell you any more as I do not want to spoil things for you.
It is a very thought provoking read, with a strong Christian message, and one I can highly recommend.




- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, 12 October 2019

CHILDREN OF THE STARS by MARIO ESCOBAR

Publication date 25/2/20
CHILDREN OF THE STARS by MARIO ESCOBAR tells the unforgettable story of two Jewish brothers, Jacob and Moses Stein, who, against all odds, travel from the horrors of World War Ii Paris half way around the world to find their parents. It is not only their courage that strikes one but also the incredible courage of those who were willing to help them. The unconditional love of these people provides a strong contrast to the hatred of the Nazi regime. The story is full of unforgettable characters, some of whom are actual historical figures such as Pastor Andre Trocle and his wife Magda who worked with displaced people, both Jew and Gentile, in the village of Le Chambron-sur-Lignon.
The author has an incredible way of describing human emotions, and we are really drawn into Jacob and Moses' physical and emotional journey. It is an inspirational story, both heart breaking and heart warming, and throughout we feel the presence of the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, as ordinary people reach out to others, risking their lives to help those who have been branded because of their nationality or religion. There is so much truth in this novel. Amongst other things we are reminded that the fight against evil is a spiritual one.
The story is really riveting and I cannot recommend the book highly enough. In fact I will go as far as to say it is one of the best novels I have read this year.



- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, 5 October 2019

DAUGHTER OF ROME by TESSA AFSHAR

Publication date 4/2/20
Having read and enjoyed all of TESSA AFSHAR's novels, I was looking forward to receiving a copy of DAUGHTER OF ROME, and I am definitely not disappointed! In her special way, the author draws us into New Testament times with the story of Priscilla and Aquila, adding wonderful characters that round out the Bible story, without in any way detracting from the truth. She uses Scriptures throughout which form an integral part of the book. There is a richness in her writing that really makes the Bible come alive.
Priscilla comes from a noble Roman family, but when her father dies she is treated badly by her brother. She longs to belong to a family and finds acceptance and love amongst the followers of Yeshua. She is compassionate and kind, forgiving others whilst she finds it hard to forgive herself!
Aquila is a young Jewish follower of Yeshua, who is initially seen as being quite judgmental and legalistic. Their love story is beautifully told.
The two of them, together with additional "family" members, serve the Lord faithfully in Rome and then in Corinth, where they serve with Paul, following him to Ephesus.
I am not going to tell you any more as I do not want to spoil things for you, except to say that there is everything in this novel that makes for a most enjoyable read - romance, intrigue, likable characters and biblical truth. I cannot recommend Daughter of Rome highly enough.

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Tuesday, 24 September 2019

LEGACY RESTORED by ROBIN PATCHEN

LEGACY RESTORED by ROBIN PATCHEN is not just a romantic suspense novel which will keep you reading long into the night, but it is a sensitively told story about real people who are struggling to overcome the past. There is a theme of restoration and redemption running through it, and the strong Christian message is an integral part of the book.
Angel Rossi is a rehabilitated thief and con woman, who has one more hurdle to overcome before her slate is wiped clean and she is free. If she does not help the police put a murderer and thief behind bars, she will be put in prison herself.
Donovan Gilcreast is an artist who is living in Jack Rossi's beautiful old house, restoring it for him. Donovan has become a recluse, cutting himself off from people and hardly talking, due to his sorrow and guilt over his sister Katie's death from a drug overdose. His inspiration has gone and his paintings lack life.
I will leave you there, not wanting to spoil the read for you.
I really enjoyed the book and recommend it highly.


- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, 21 September 2019

PROMISED LAND by ROBERT WHITLOW

Publication date 14/1/20.
PROMISED LAND by ROBERT WHITLOW follows on from Chosen People.
The novel can stand alone, but it will mean more to you if you read Chosen People first. It is a legal thriller, full of intrigue, suspense, and life and death moments. It is also a story about relationships, especially with regard to trusting the Lord and one another, and has a beautiful Christian message running through it.
Hana Abboud and Daud Hasan are newly married and living in Atlanta, where Hana works for a prestigious Jewish law firm. She is fluent in Arabic and Hebrew, which makes her extra valuable, as they have many Middle Eastern clients.
Daud is a former Shin Bet operative and now works in setting up security for businesses in America and the Middle East. He also does some undercover work for the CIA.
The story takes place largely between America and Israel. Hana and Daud ask the Lord where their promised land is - should they stay in Atlanta or move to Jerusalem? Because of Daud's past, both places are dangerous for them. My favourite words in the book describe Hana, when she finally overcomes her constant fear that something is going to happen to Daud - "The promised land within her soul had become conquered land, and those who lived in conquered land could be at peace. More than ever, Jesus was her Prince of Peace."
It is a story of reconciliation, and, when Hana is asked by her Jewish boss to speak at an interfaith forum on Israel, she is prepared to tell her story as a Christian Arab whose family has lived in Israel for four hundred years, close to Nazareth where Jesus grew up.
I found the book most inspirational, exciting, and altogether enjoyable. It is a book that I will read more than once and I cannot recommend it highly enough.



- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad